first grilling and gardening of the year.

Nothing beats those first few days of warmer weather.  Greg and I took advantage of the sunshine last Saturday by spending 95% of the day outside.  We cleaned off the grill, prepped some lovely chicken and vegetables, and set to work.  (We also used the most amazing barbecue sauce EVER, Sweet Baby Ray’s Hickory and Brown Sugar.  Try it.  You will not be disappointed!)

I am really desperate to have a garden. I have been unsuccessful in the past, but I’ve always tried everything in pots.  This time, I planted seeds in the ground for cosmos, dahlias, bachelor buttons (cornflowers), and coleus.  Greg potted the sage.  I also bought some poppies (just maybe they might grow!  i would cry!), zinnia, cilantro, and a couple of others that I haven’t planted yet because it’s been raining.  I think I need to try everything I can to see what will work.  I transplanted these hyacinths, which were being choked by thorns in the woods (they might have been safer there than in my garden!), and planted a kalanchoe  that I already had.  Fingers crossed!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to first grilling and gardening of the year.

  1. Diana-
    Though I am a wanna-be gardener myself, a bit of advice I picked up recently: remember your last frost date in NJ (zone 6B) is not until Friday, 5/6. That being said, our frost date in Boothbay Harbor isn’t until the 11th, but currently it’s about 40 degrees, so it’s still too early for anything but pansies. I want to see pictures of your garden when it’s in bloom! Also, another tip: Miracle-Gro!
    LYLAS (!),
    Valerie

Leave a Reply

